Stares on the Stairs – Limnology Art Show

Limnology: The scientific study of inland waters.

At the UW-Madison Hasler Lab, located just west of the Memorial Union on beautiful Lake Mendota, a collection of water-related photos hang on the stairway, mirroring the theme of Arthur D. Hasler’s aquatic studies and research in Wisconsin.

IMG_8100The Center for Limnology (CFL) was established in 1982 to plan, conduct, and facilitate inland freshwater research. For more information on their work, visit https://limnology.wisc.edu.

In my work at the UW print shop, I have become friends with Kelly O’ferrell from the CFL. In the past few years, I have assisted her with InDesign training, Photoshop help, and also gave tips on WordPress as she prepared to implement and maintain her department’s website in WP using the UW theme. Over the past few years we have worked together on projects coming to the print shop, and she also attended a Lynda.com InDesign program that I facilitated for clients. While collaborating with Kelly recently, she pointed out to me that the staircase in her building is a space for artists to display work that relates to the mission of Hasler Lab and CFL. She knew I was a photographer, and encouraged me to participate in this gallery, so I took her up on it.

Below you can see just some of the pieces that I am displaying at CFL in the “Water You Doing?” art space on the stairs throughout the summer of 2017. Most of the images I chose were from vacations with my family; trips to Duluth, Door County, the Mississippi River, and St. Louis. Enjoy these water images here; however, I recommend you take a walk along the lake shore path sometime soon, and stop in at Hasler Lab (during business hours) to see the entire display and have some ‘stares on the stairs’ of the CFL.

 

 

Leave a Reply

